I Am a Genius!!

Posted: April 2, 2012 in Jump Start, Leadership
Tags: , , , ,

“Someone asked me if I thought I was a genius. I decided to say yes. Why not? Try it out. Tell yourself that you are a genius. Right away you will probably wonder why and in what way you are a genius. And right away you will have opened your mind up to wonder–and to asking questions. That’s a big first step to thinking like a genius…”

Donald J. Trump, Think Like a Champion

If someone were to ask me that question, my first response would have been no. I don’t know if it would have been out of humility or that I didn’t see myself as one. Now that this thought has been presented to me, why not be one? So I am going to try it out and be a genius.

What if someone were to ask you:

Are you the top salesperson in your company?

Are you the best in the world at what you do?

Are you a best selling author?

Are you a genius?

How would you respond? Rather than laugh it off, and say, “Yeah, right,” try it. What do you have to lose? First figure out what it is you want to be known as a genius. Once you identify the area you want to be the genius, you need to start asking questions. Begin by answering the what, where, who, how, why, and when questions. Let your mind begins to understand what it will take to make it so.

Then start acting on the things you need to do to become a genius. Before you know it, people won’t have to ask, they’ll just know.

Comments
  1. wcellis says:

    Thanks for stretching the thought to various aspects of our work and our lives. Appreciate that idea. Also, nice to see you and The Donald hanging out together.