Unofficially Going Back to School

Posted: May 14, 2012 in Jump Start, Leadership
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday, I spent time doing what sparks my inner creative genius to flourish: mowing the grass. I don’t know why it is one of my most creative times, it just is. And yesterday was no exception. I decided I am unofficially going back to school.

Now, I am not going the route of a traditional education at a college or university, I am creating my own eight week sessions on topics I want to learn more about. I recognize the need to learn more and I have the opportunity to chisel out a full load of classes for myself.

Here is the list of classes I am creating for myself (not taking all of these at once):

  • Marketing
  • Branding
  • Sales
  • Leadership
  • Interpersonal Relationships
  • Economics
  • Social Media for the Small Business Owner
  • Personal Development
  • Wine/Beer Making
  • Marine Biology
  • Public Speaking
  • Writing
  • Business/Life Coaching
  • Small Group Facilitation

My initial format for my class time will consist of 30 minutes of study, 10 minutes of applying what I learn to my own business or life, and 10 minutes of sharing what I learned either by writing or video blogging (study, apply, and share).  This will be done in 8 week segments with 2 weeks break between sessions.

I may develop an interactive session with these classes where three or four other people all meet together online to share knowledge, ideas, and thoughts. If you have an interest in group learning or want to follow along this learning adventure, sign up to receive updates.

 

Comments
  1. Ben Stern says:

    I saw your blog today.. pretty cool. Anyone in my book that has anything to do with leadership is on the right track.. It is sorely needed in our lives. As a business owner who shares a passion for spreading the message of leadership, i appreciate your blog.

    Warm Regards,

    Ben Stern
    http://www.bensternlifeblog.com