The Siege

Posted: September 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

ImageImageImage

 

Centuries ago, castles and fortresses like Ivangorod were built as strongholds able to protect its inhabitants from a number of enemy forces. Tall, thick walls were built to withstand battering rams and to allow defensive units to stand guard. The fortress was built to close down all access points into the fortress to keep any enemies from entering.

Occasionally, an enemy would lay siege to a fortress. They would surround the fortress and cut off any supply routes to force the eventual surrender of those within the fortress as supplies ran out. Soldiers would look out over the walls at the enemy and see them eating, drinking, and enjoying each day as if they were enjoying the high life. With each passing day, morale would deteriorate as supplies began to dwindle and rationing took place. It was either surrender, go out and meet the enemy in battle, or continue to wait it out and see if the enemy would pack up and leave.

Do you ever feel like you are on the inside of the fortress encountering the siege when it comes to LIVING your dream? You look out from the top of your fortress walls to see that you are surrounded by an unknown force that is keeping you locked down inside. 

As I stand upon the wall of my fortress, I look and I can see people who have set themselves free to enjoy life to its fullest. I can smell the breeze coming off the oceans where they are vacationing. I can hear the sounds of people enjoying a life of abundance and sharing their stories of freedom. However, there are two things I haven’t been able to do yet. I have yet to taste the fruit of a life of abundance nor have I felt true freedom in my life.

I am looking for every hole in the enemy line that is keeping me from receiving the supplies I need. I am looking for every opportunity to LIVE my dream and leave behind the limitations of this fortress. With each passing day though, my morale keeps dropping. The hope of actually LIVING out my dream diminishes a little with each passing day where nothing seems to happen. Surrender it seems is a reasonable option IF I didn’t know what I know.

My head has been filled with stories of people on the edge of losing everything and then the big break comes. Napoleon Hill shares the story of the Darbys quitting just three feet from gold. These words Napoleon wrote in Think and Grow Rich inspire me to press on:

Before success comes in any man’s life, he is sure to meet with much temporary defeat, and, perhaps, some failure. When defeat overtakes a man, the easiest thing and most logical thing to do is to QUIT. That is exactly what the majority of men do.

 

“More than five hundred of the most successful men this country has ever known, told the author their greatest success came just one step beyond the point at which defeat had overtaken them. Failure is a trickster with a keen sense of irony and cunning. It takes great delight in tripping one when success is almost within reach.” 

If you can see it, smell it, hear it, you are much closer than you think to also taste and feel the success and freedom you seek. Do whatever it takes to boost your morale, to take that next step, and move closer to breaking the siege.

Dream BIG and LIVE your dream!

 

 

 

 

 

Comments are closed.