Splish, Splash: Taking a Leap When You Should Have Taken a Step

Posted: September 15, 2012 in Flawed Leaders, Leadership
Tags: , , , , , , ,

There are times when we get excited about a big project or big idea and we want to take that proverbial leap of faith and go for it. We take a few running steps, leap toward our goal, and splash! We land short of what we intended and end up either drowning in misery that our big idea didn’t happen or swimming back to shore to figure out how we didn’t land where we wanted to land.

This morning, a link was shared on a private Facebook group that opened my eyes to see why I am standing on the shore all soaking wet. This realization hit me: I took a leap when I should have taken a step. (Here’s the video if you’re interested.)

Brendon Buchard – Experts Academy

A few of the steps that Brendon shared in the video on how to build a buying audience from your expertise included knowing your target customer (which I do), understand their buying behavior (something I need to investigate more), and create a product or service based on your expertise (you’ll have to watch the video to get the all the steps). Even though I did create a product or service, my service is probably too big of a step for people to take as their first step in working with me. Regardless of how good the product or service is or looks, very few would be willing to make a big step until they have taken a smaller step first.

So now that I am standing on the shore letting the sun dry me out, the next STEP I need to take is creating products or services of value with little to no buy-in costs. I will be looking to add some great content to inspire young leaders to thrive and become stronger leaders tomorrow. That is a step in the right direction that won’t leave me soaking wet.

Comments are closed.